Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Organic Oats: Healthy Breakfast And Snacks

Oat is also commonly called an oat. It is a species of cereal grain; grown from seed. Oats are also good for human consumption. Oatmeal and rolled oats are the most common uses for livestock feed. Oats are formally named Avena sativa. Oats are a type of cereal grain.

What are the uses of oat?

The grain refers to an edible seed of oat grass, which ends up in breakfast and snack bowls. The uses of oats are eaten or consumed daily in some areas of the world. People often eat the following parts of the cereal grain:

  • Whole seeds
  • Outer seed layers
  • Leaves
  • Stem

Oats reduce blood sugar and cholesterol levels. It can also help control appetite because it makes you feel full when consumed. Yes, it is used as an alternative to rice grains. Some countries don’t consume rice grains other than consuming this grain; they eat cereal grains that are processed to become an oat.

Is oat healthy?

Oats consist of a type of soluble fiber. The soluble fiber is called beta-glucan, which reduces the risk of diabetes and heart diseases. So, those who are diagnosed with these health conditions choose oats for daily consumption, especially for the elderly.

Beta-glucan promotes:

  • Intestinal health
  • Healthy gut bacteria

Gluten-free oats

Not all oats are gluten-free. So, if you are looking for one, you should be looking for one. Most people choose to have these gluten-free oats served on the table, specifically for breakfast and snacks. Do you wonder if oats are gluten-free? Then, not all

If you are thinking if there is a gluten-free oat, yes, and it is how the grain is processed. Yes, if you are gluten tolerant, you can eat oats. There is no problem for those with celiac disease as oats are safe to consume and click here

To ensure that the oat is gluten-free, you must read the label. Once you don’t see on the label a gluten-free oat, never consume it if you are on a strict gluten-free diet. Oats are processed to those with gluten containing whole grains. The facility processed two kinds of oats:

  • Gluten-containing
  • Gluten-free

So, you must read the label first. Those oats that contain gluten are wheat seed, rye, and barley. If you are sensitive to gluten or allergic to wheat, you should be looking for not certified gluten-free. You can also test out a few bites and gauge your reaction.

Some level of gluten contamination is possible. So, be a reader when you are picking an oat.

Gluten-free oats versus regular oats

Gluten-free oats. It is processed in a facility where there is no cross-contamination.

Regular oats. It is produced alongside gluten-containing products. So, you can trace amounts of the gluten that appears.

Now, you know how to differentiate them.

Comments are closed.